Night Driving on the Western Highway

http://www.janettakerrgrant.com.au

My first foray into blogging….I am one of the Trudie Alfred Bequest recipients and Vicki , the editor of JAC, thought it would be good for the five of us to share what is going on with our ceramics as the year develops. So I am quite shocked to realise the first semester of my honours year has nearly slipped by. Like the other recipients, I have been buried deep in trying to forge new directions with all the uncertainty that goes with developing new ideas. My work is centred around the experience of travelling, particularly the experience of driving, often at night, along Melbourne’s vast freeway networks. Although I live in Melbourne I study in Ballarat and the drive has become familiar and at the same time mesmerising. I have taken a lot of photos trying to capture just what is it that attracts me. This particular photo has been one of the key images for my work this year. I have wrestled with developing a unity between the form and the imagery and after a number of maquettes I feel I finally could be making some headway. I will be glazing some larger pieces next week which hopefully will give me some feedback for the next step forward.

http://www.janettakerrgrant.com.au
.Image

 

My first foray into blogging….hi, I’m Janetta Kerr-Grant, one of the Trudie Alfred Bequest recipients and Vicki , the editor of JAC, thought it would be good for the five of us to share what is going on with our ceramics as the year develops. So I am quite shocked to realise the first semester of my honours year has nearly slipped by. Like the other recipients, I have been buried deep in trying to forge new directions with all the uncertainty that goes with developing new ideas.

My work is centred around the experience of travelling, particularly the experience of driving, often at night, along Melbourne’s vast freeway networks. Although I live in Melbourne I study in Ballarat and the drive has become familiar and at the same time mesmerising. I have taken a lot of photos trying to capture just what is it that attracts me. This particular photo has been one of the key images for my work this year. I have wrestled with developing a unity between the form and the imagery and after a number of maquettes I feel I finally could be making some headway.

I will be glazing some larger pieces next week which hopefully will give me some feedback for the next step forward.

http://www.janettakerrgrant.com.au
.Image

Leave a Reply

